Section 1

Content Section 1

Below you will find a selected list of national and local governments, institutions, academic departments, and organizations who have made resolutions and statements against the use of Indian mascots

National Congress of American Indians

Peoria Tribe of Oklahoma (formerly Kaskaskia, Peoria, Piankesaw and Wea Indians known by Europeans as Illinois/Illini)

Advocates for American Indian Children (California)
Alliance Against Racial Mascots (ALLARM)
American Psychological Association (Full text of the official APA American Indian Mascot Resolution )
American Indian Movement
American Indian Language and Culture Education Board
American Indian Mental Health Association (Minnesota)
Association on American Indian Affairs

BRIDGES - a student organization at the University of North Dakota
Buncombe County Native American Intertribal Association (North Carolina)
Concerned American Indian Parents (Minnesota)
Council for Indigenous North Americans (University of Southern Maine)
Critical Research Collaborative, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Diversity Initiatives Planning Committee, University of Illinois Chancellor's Committee
Eagle and Condor Indigenous Peoples' Alliance
Governor's Interstate Indian Council
Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission
Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council
Illinois Native Bar Association

Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes (Composed of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muskogee [Creek], Cherokee, and Seminole Nations)

Institute of American Indian Arts, Santa Fe, New Mexico
Juaneño Band of Mission Indians
Kansas Association for Native American Education
Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs
Menominee Tribe of Indians (Wisconsin)
The Morning Star Institute

NAES College, Chicago (Native American Educational Services)
National Coalition on Racism in Sports and the Media
National Indian Education Association
Native American Caucus of the California Democratic Party
Native American Indian Center of Central Ohio

Native American Journalists Association

Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs
North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs
North Dakota Indian Education Association
North Dakota State University Student Senate
Ohio Center for Native American Affairs
Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin
Progressive Resource Action Cooperative, Student Organization at University of Illinois
Red Roots, Native American Student Organization at University of Illinois
Academic Senate, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana
Society of Indian Psychologists of the Americas
Southern California Indian Center
Southern Poverty Law Center
St. Cloud State University - American Indian Center
Tennessee Chapter of the National Coalition for the Preservation of Indigenous Cultures
University of Illinois, Counseling Center
University of Illinois, Department of Anthropology
University of Illinois, Department of Educational Psychology
University of Illinois, Department of English
University of Illinois, Department of History
University of Illinois, Department of Psychology
University of Illinois, Department of Sociology
University of Illinois, Department of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese
University of Illinois, Graduate School of Library and Information Science
University of Illinois, Graduate Employees' Organization
Wisconsin Indian Education Association
WIEA "Indian" Mascot and Logo Taskforce (Wisconsin)
Youth "Indian" Mascot and Logo Taskforce (Wisconsin)